What is Mediation?

 Danielle Copperman


As a lifestyle brand we want to incorporate all walks of life, so we thought we'd start the week with some mindfulness. We have joined up with model and wellness writer Danielle Copperman (@daniellecopperman) for a monthly dose of meditation. However just to start, if you're new to meditation and chakras, we thought it might be helpful to give a brief overview of what is chakra meditation and what do the 7 Chakras represent.

Firstly, Chakra meditation is a specialized form of meditation that targets blocked chakras. With proper chakra meditation, you can cleanse, clear and balance your chakras. 

Secondly, while there are many different chakras in the body which represent different centres of energy large and small, a good way to start is to focus on the seven core chakras.


1. Root Chakra (Muladhara)- Colour: Red, Mantra: LAM

This chakra is found at the base of your spine and governs your connection to the wider world, your fundamental needs for food, shelter, and stability. issues with your root chakra can case several emotional and physical problems, especially digestive ailments.

2. Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana)- Colour: Orange, Mantra: VAM

The Sacral chakra rests just below the naval. It's intimately involved in the creative process; governing both your reproductive organs and imagination. Balance within this chakra is essential for coping with new experiences and exploring the world.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipurar)- Colour: Yellow, Mantra: RA

The solar plexus chakra sits in your stomach and is fundamental to digestion as well as having a mental and spiritual role. When this chakra is balanced, you will be able to embrace and understand the things you experience. 

4. Heart Chakra (Anahata)- Colour: Green, Mantra: YAM

The heart chakra is located at the centre of the cardiovascular system and intimately tied to the organs around it. Imbalances can cause respiratory problems and high blood pressure. Mentally, an open and balanced heart chakra allows you to form emotional connections with others. 

5. Throat Chakra (Visshuddha)- Colour: Blue, Mantra: OM

The throat chakra is located unsurprisingly in your throat, near the thyroid glands and governs communication and self-expression. A blockage in the throat chakra can cause feelings of isolation and a range of physical issues from susceptibility to infection, to hormonal imbalances. 

6. Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)- Colour: Indigo, Mantra: SHAM 

The third eye chakra is located just above the junction of your eyebrows and is in charge of insight and intuition. When this chakra is balanced, it allows you to see how the world around you is interconnected and makes it easier for you to understand it.

7. Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)- Colour: Purple/White, Mantra: OM

The crown chakra sits on top of your head and is the business end of the primary chakras. When all your chakras are in balance and your energy is healthy, the crown chakra serves as a power connection to the wider world. Maintaining a healthy crown chakra leads to a sense of peace, well-being, and confidence.